Join A Leader In

ASD Essential 8

Preparing you for ASD Essential 8 allignment. Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) Essential Eight – Strategies to Mitigate Cyber Security Incidents is a prioritised list of mitigation strategies to assist organisations in protecting their systems against a range of adversaries. Vectra can help you achieve ASD Essential 8 Level 1 -3 maturity.

What is the ASD Essential 8?

The Australian Signals Directorate’s Australian Cyber Security Centre (ACSC) has crafted prioritised mitigation strategies, encapsulated in the Strategies to Mitigate Cyber Security Incidents, to aid organisations in countering cyber security incidents prompted by a variety of cyber threats. The pinnacle of these mitigation strategies is dubbed the Essential Eight (ACSC Essential 8).

To support organisations in assessing the maturity of their application of the Essential Eight, three maturity levels have been established for each mitigation strategy. These maturity levels are delineated as follows:

Essential 8 Maturity Model

  • Maturity Level One: Partially aligned with the intent of the mitigation strategy
  • Maturity Level Two: Largely aligned with the intent of the mitigation strategy
  • Maturity Level Three: Completely aligned with the intent of the mitigation strategy

As a foundational goal, organisations should strive to achieve Maturity Level Three for each mitigation strategy. Nevertheless, certain organisations may find themselves persistently targeted by adept adversaries or may operate within a heightened risk context. In instances where the ACSC discerns that an organisation necessitates a maturity level surpassing Maturity Level Three, bespoke advice will be provided by the ACSC to cater to the unique requirements of the organisation.

How Vectra can help with the ASD Essential 8?

Vectra possesses the expertise and resources required to assist your organisation in attaining Maturity Level Three within the ASD Essential 8 framework. Achieving this level of cybersecurity maturity involves a comprehensive approach that includes:

  • Thorough Assessment of Current Procedures and Practices: Vectra conducts an in-depth review of your existing cybersecurity procedures and practices to identify areas of strength and potential vulnerabilities. This initial step ensures a tailored approach to enhancing your cybersecurity posture.

  • Development of a Maturity Remediation Plan: Based on the assessment, Vectra crafts a detailed Maturity Remediation Plan. This plan outlines the strategic steps necessary to address any identified gaps and to strengthen your cybersecurity defenses in alignment with the ASD Essential 8’s objectives.

  • Implementation of Tailored Solutions: Following the remediation plan, Vectra deploys tailored solutions designed to elevate your organisation’s cybersecurity maturity across the three levels defined by the ASD Essential 8. This involves not only addressing current gaps but also implementing best practices for ongoing security enhancement.

Vectra’s approach ensures not just compliance with the ASD Essential 8 but also strengthens your organisation’s overall cybersecurity resilience. By leveraging Vectra’s expertise, your organisation can protect itself more effectively against cyber threats and adapt to the evolving digital landscape with confidence.

Empower Your Cybersecurity: Elevate to Excellence with Vectra